One of the hardest things about going gluten free is figuring out what you are going to eat! Feeling hungry and not knowing what snacks you can eat! At times, it can feel like everything you want is off limits!
This list is great for those new to eating gluten free and for those who may have gluten free family or friends that come to visit.
There are a few things to learn if you are going gluten free or are going to feed someone who is gluten free. It is important to understand the following:
Learn why someone would be gluten free and what gluten free means
A fabulous source for accurate information is gluten.org .Compliance to the diet is easier when you understand why being strictly gluten free is important. There are things to consider if you are just jumping into trying gluten free Why You Should Wait Before Going Gluten Free. Here are some things that drive people crazy who have to be gluten free.
For family and friends who don’t understand why we are now gluten free: 23 Things You Don’t Understand About My Auto-Immune Child.
Learn how to read labels
If you need help remembering what to look for, you can get a laminated card (the size of a credit card) to carry with you. It is only $1.50 and lists both allowed and not allowed ingredients! Quick Reference Ingredient Card
Learn proper gluten free food handling and kitchen processes
You can’t use butter, jam, peanut butter, mayo, or anything that has been double dipped with a knife! This is cross contamination. The ingredient itself is safe (gluten free) but gluten has come in contact with it.
When making something for someone who is gluten free make sure all surfaces you are working on are free of all gluten. If you touch anything with gluten make sure you wash your hands before continuing. Touching gluten and then touching things those who have to be gluten free touch or eat can make them sick.
No, you can’t make gluten free waffles in the same waffle iron you have made gluten waffles.
No, you can’t make gluten free toast in the same toaster (or toaster oven) as gluten toast has been made. However, there are these nifty, reusable toaster bags that make it safe to use the same toaster. (All photos are clickable links.)
At this time Cheerios is NOT considered safe for those who need to be gluten free. The same goes for other cereals that use oats and mechanical sorting. The ONLY oats considered safe are those that are certified gluten free. Some people with celiac choose not to do oats; it’s always a good idea to ask questions to those you want to feed. You can read more about the oat/Cheerio controversy at The Gluten Free Watchdog
- Corn Chips and Salsa
Corn Chips and Cheese (Nachos)
Chips and dip
Stax Chips– We used to take Pringles on trips with us. The container is nice and doesn’t crush easily. It was hard to try taking bags of chips on excursions! However, Pringles contain gluten!!!! I was so happy when Lays came out with their Stax Chips in a container that can withstand a car trip!!!
5. Popcorn – read the label some microwave popcorns contain gluten
6. Gluten Free licorice
8. Gluten Free Pretzels
10. Ice Cream– double check the ingredients and stay away from flavors that include cookies, cakes, pretzels, etc. Most ice creams are gluten free. Ice cream sundaes, banana splits, shakes, root beer floats. . .
11. Vegetables (NO gluten in vegetables!)
12. Veggies and dip– Always read labels some Ranch Dressing contains gluten.
Ants on a Log- celery with peanut butter and raisins
13. Fruit-(There is NO gluten in fruit!)
14. Fruit with a fruit dip
Things you can make
15. Jell-O Brand Jell-O
16. Jell-O Brand Pudding
17. Tacos– use corn shells yellow or white (double check ingredients)
19. Potato Salad – make sure all ingredients put into the salad are gluten free. 13 years ago mayo and mustard had wheat added to them. I haven’t seen any lately that do, but it is always good to check the ingredients. Also, if you have made a sandwich with that mayo and dipped, even once from bread to mayo jar with the knife, it is CONTAMINATED and NOT SAFE for someone who is gluten free. Cross contamination or cross contact happens easily and can make people with celiac or gluten intolerance really sick. Use a new jar of mayo if there is any question!
20. Bowl of Chili Dogs– Hotdogs and chili (especially) often contain gluten. Read the label and make sure there is NO wheat, rye, barley, oats, malt (The ingredient card can really come in handy when you aren’t used to looking for these ingredients.)
21. Hot dogs– without a bun or with a gluten free bun or gluten free bread
22. Omelets – fried eggs, scrambled eggs, etc.
23. Deviled Eggs
24. Make a pie with a gluten free cookie crust or a no crust pie! I have a great lemon pie with a gluten free cookie crust! No, you can’t just eat the pie and not the crust! NO, absolutely no gluten crust!!!
25. Foster Farms Gluten Free Corn Dogs – these are great to have in the freezer! Eat with some ketchup and mustard!
I hope this helps your transition to gluten free foods a little easier!
You can find more ideas for snacks by going to these two posts about LDS Trek and Camp Snack ideas.
Leave your reply.